Reds duo battle it out for player award

Reds backs Quade Cooper and Will Genia will go head to head for the right to be named as the Australian Super Rugby player of the year.

Both half-backs have enjoyed spectacular seasons for the Australian franchise, helping their side top the Australian conference and the overall competition.

The votes will be counted for the award and revealed on Thursday, with the pair familiar with the process having contested the award last year.

Cooper beat Genia into second place in 2010, with a repeat of that outcome likely to happen again according to bookmakers.

Other players likely to contest the award this year are Matt Giteau of the Brumbies, the Waratahs’ Kurtley Beale and Western Force duo James O’Connor and Nathan Sharpe.

The Reds have a tradition of winning the award in previous years, with former full-back Chris Latham picking up the award three times during his playing days.

Meanwhile Reds coach Ewen McKenzie looks set to be rewarded for his hard work in guiding his side effortlessly into the knock-out rounds of Super Rugby, and could move clear of former Brumbies coach David Nucifora as the most decorated coach in the game if he picks up his fourth trophy.

The Reds await to find out their opposition in the semi-finals as the NSW Waratahs go up against the Blues in the first semi-final qualifier on Friday.

Play FruitMachines for your chance to win big!

Share this:


Post Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.