Sign-up inducements to end for QLD, NT, TAS and ACT residents

Australian bookmakers will soon have to cease offering sign-up inducements to QLD, NT, TAS and ACT residents. This has already been the case for VIC, NSW, SA and WA residents for some time.

Under the new rules, bookmakers will no longer be able to offer free bets, credits or other inducements to entice customers to sign up.

Implementation for the new restrictions is slated for June 2018.

Other major measures include a national self-exclusion register, which will enable problem gamblers to ban themselves from all Australian-licensed services. This is set to be in operation by December 2018. A voluntary pre-commitment scheme for online wagering will be implemented by June 2018. This will enables gamblers to set binding deposit limits with a seven-day cooling-off period before limits can be increased again.


Share this:


Post Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.