Bookmaker Ownership Structure in Australia

With so many bookmakers sharing the same owner, it’s worth paying attention to the bookmaker ownership structure in Australia. A number of bookmakers feature identical odds and markets, leaving weekly promotions as the only point of difference. This reduces the benefits of holding a membership with each of them.

To assist with bookmaker membership selections, below is the current ownership structure of the leading Australian-licensed bookmakers. Some owners place more emphasis on their leading brands, so where applicable the primary brand for each owner is highlighted.

Bet 365 Group Limited  UK
Private company, headquartered in Stoke-on-Trent, England. Employs over 2,100 staff. Learn more.

BlueBet Pty Ltd  Australia
NSW company founded in 2015 by Michael Sullivan, the former CEO of Sportingbet and Centrebet.

PlayUp Interactive Pty Ltd  Australia
PlayUp Interactive Pty Ltd is a wholly owned subsidiary of PlayUp Limited and is a licensed gambling operator in Australia. PlayUp operates fantasy sports, sports betting and online gaming platforms. As of April 2018 it had approximately 400,000 registered users and 27 full-time employees. PlayUp has offices in Sydney (HQ), Melbourne, Darwin and Hong Kong (source). PlayUp merged ClassicBet and Mad Bookie into the PlayUp brand in October 2019 and has plans to merge TopBetta as well.

  • ClassicBet – now closed
  • Draftstars – licensed in the Northern Territory (review)
  • PlayUp – licensed in the Northern Territory (review)
  • TopBetta – soon to be closed
  • Mad Bookie – now closed

The Stars Group Inc. & Matthew Tripp  Australia
The Stars Group Inc. acquired a 62% equity interest in CrownBet Holdings Pty Limited in 2018. CEO Matthew Tripp (former owner of Sportsbet) is another major shareholder. Betfair is a betting exchange while BetEasy is a bookmaker so the two don’t share the same odds or markets. William Hill Australia’s parent company in the UK sold their Australian business to CrownBet in March 2018. CrownBet was rebranded as BetEasy in August of that year.

  • Betfair Australia – licensed in the Northern Territory (review)
  • BetEasy – licensed in the Northern Territory (review)
    Previous names:, AK Racing, Betezy, BetEasy, CrownBet
  • Centrebet – now closed
  • Tom Waterhouse – now closed
  • William Hill Australia (previously called Sportingbet) – now closed

Paddy Power plc  Ireland
Founded in 1988 and listed on the Irish Stock Exchange. The company operates around 400 betting shops across Ireland and the UK. Learn more.

  • Sportsbet – licensed in the Northern Territory (review)
  • IASbet – now closed

Palmer Bookmaking Pty Ltd  Australia
Founded by the Palmer brothers and operates operates from offices at Canterbury Racecourse. The Palmer family has been associated with betting in Sydney for over 30 years. They commenced online wagering in 2013.

Pointsbet Australia Pty Ltd  Australia
Launched in early 2017 with a postal address in Melbourne. At this stage we know very little about the owners.

SportChamps Australia Pty. Ltd  Australia
Founded in 2017 by Alan Eskander, who sold Betstar to Ladbrokes in 2014. The company is based in Melbourne.

Tabcorp Holdings Limited  Australia
Tabcorp is a wagering, gaming, media and Keno operator in Australia. It was founded in Melbourne in 1994 after the privatisation of the Victorian TAB. The company is headquartered in Melbourne and is listed on the ASX. It operates almost 2,000 betting outlets in NSW and over 600 in Victoria. It also offers on-course betting at 255 racecourses. Learn more.   Note that unlike most sibling bookmakers, Luxbet and Tab Sportsbet offer different odds and markets and are licensed in different states to one another.

Unibet Group plc  Malta
Founded in 1997. Was originally based in the UK but is now headquartered in Malta. The parent company is listed on the Nordic stock exchange and holds licences in France, Belgium, Denmark, Italy, Australia and the UK. They boast over 9.5 million customers in over 100 countries. Learn more.


Share this: